The Ultimate Book Tag

I’ve always associated myself with being a bookworm. I loved reading books growing up, and while I was clicking through blogs, I found this interesting booktag that I just had to do and naturally, I asked Filyn and Mai to do this with me. Thanks to whenlostinabook for allowing us to continue the tag, based on this youtube link Chapter Chicks. So, let’s get right to it then?

Questions:
1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Sabrina: Unfortunately, yes. It gets worse if the car has a nauseatingly sweet perfume.

Mai: I do now, sometimes though. Back then, I used to read in the car all the time before going to school.

Filyn: Yes very much so. Even reading texts gets me nauseated.

 

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Sabrina: I would have to say Oscar Wilde. His biting sarcasm is an infectious read.

Mai: I can’t say, because I just read whatever and whoever 🙂

Filyn: I find Rumi really weird, but I love his poem.

 

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Sabrina: Is this even a question??? Harry Potter all the way! Why? 1. The characters are incredibly well thought and have interesting personalities.  2. It’s a fictional magical world, with magic with magical creatures. 3. JK Rowling is an amazing author, and you can find clues and secrets that were hinted in the beginning which will later play such a big role in the sequels. For example: Snape, the Horcruxes, Kreacher, Room of Requirement. For good measure, I’ll just add one more. 4. It actually has a good storyline with each book. Unlike New Moon which was about Bella moping around for multiple chapters before putting herself in life threatening situations just to see her ex or Breaking Dawn, a buildup to nothing.

Mai: I never read any! But based on the movies, Harry Potter for sure. The movie plot is different. 😀

Filyn: Never read Harry Potter, finished all the Twilight Saga and that was more out of a nagging need to finish what I started with Twilight while cussing at Bella throughout the whole series. And yet I would still go with Harry Potter based on the movies and the much more intelligent characters.

 

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is it in (besides books…)?

Sabrina: I’ve never carried a book bag.

Mai: No I don’t 😉

Filyn: Nope. But I carry a book in my purse, often yes than no.

 

5. Do you smell your books?

Sabrina: Yes, but only the brand new ones. It’s thrilling, especially after I open the plastic wrap. I love the new book smell.

Mai: Yes! The new ones, just like Sabrina. They smell so good.

Filyn: Nope. I guess after a while I just stopped sniffing them.

 

6. Books with or without little illustrations?

Sabrina: I don’t mind either. As long as it has a good storyline.

Mai: I don’t mind both.

Filyn: Depends on the genre really. I prefer non fictions to come with pictures and fictions with none, leaving me to my boundless imagination.

 

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

Sabrina: That’s a tough one. Probably Twilight or The Nanny by Melissa Nathan or Helen of Troy by Margaret George. And that book Tilly Bagshawe wrote as a sequel to Sidney Sheldon’s Master of the Game.

Mai: Hmmm, so far I haven’t come across any. I could start one, in fact. Hahaha.

Filyn: I think quite a lot and that’s why I don’t leave much room to remember them. To name a couple, ‘Vampires Suck’ and The Shopaholic series.

 

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

Sabrina: There is this fairytale from Enid Blyton, about a girl being trapped in a tower until someone comes and rescue her. I crossed out the names and put my name as the girl and the person who rescues me was Jimmy, a member from 911, which at that time I thought was super cute. I kept the book with me under my bed for a whole year.

Mai: Oh my, I don’t! Probably because I was too young to remember.

Filyn:  Well this isn’t exactly book as I only started reading Enid Blyton’s when I entered elementary school. I thought Enid was a man btw. At age 5, every day after my grandpa picked me up from school, I would sit in front of him, listening to him read the newspaper. One day, we picked up a gory story about a murder committed by a witch(yes, witch) and I remember following the news ever since. Not so cute for a five year old I guess.

 

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

Sabrina: Love & Misadventures by Lang Leav.

Mai: I can’t recall because I’m away from home at the moment.

Filyn: So many thin books. My Frank Shann Pediatrics Drug Dosage book I suppose.

 

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

Sabrina: A 5kg American English Dictionary. It’s massive and could kill toes.

Mai: Definitely my motivational books. I’m such a sucker.

Filyn: Haha, us pharmacists and our pharmacopeia. The American Drug Info Handbook.

 

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

Sabrina: Yes, I do both. Being an author has always been a childhood dream of mine. Lately, I’m thinking to make it come true.

Mai: I used to. I would write stories about me in high school, imagining myself in a Western high school environment having a crush on the cutest boy in school with him secretly liking me too. I still keep some of my short stories, in fact. Then there’s the TV. Lol. But I have never imagined myself as an author in the future so far 🙂

Filyn: I would say yes – as in, I think I have subpar quality in both. To which I could use more practice but like Mai said, then there’s the TV!

 

12. When did you get into reading?

Sabrina: I got into reading when I was 7 years old. I just moved to UK and I didn’t know much of English. My teacher, Errol, sat down with me every break and read books with me to improve my English. And from then, my love of books just grew!

Mai: I started somewhere around the age of 8 or 9. I was envious with my brothers’ membership at the Sugarbun library in my hometown, as the library had really cool books back then. In the end, my mum made a membership card for me and I was ecstatic! Eventually I ended up using my brothers’ membership to borrow my books too!

Filyn: I started reading story books at age 5. Some lame magical forest book which I finished for a long long time. My dad always made up real crappy but funny bedtime stories. I guess my imagination stemmed from and it surpassed that book. I got real serious into reading when I was 9 or so, reading horror stories in no time at all and Enid Blyton’s of course.

13. What is your favorite classic book?

Sabrina: Possibly my very first classic book, Oliver Twist!!! Can I list more please? I also like Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, The Picture of Dorian Gray, Dracula by Bram Stoker and Les Miserables.

Mai: I don’t really read classic books, so I don’t think I have any favorite.

Filyn: I have only read a few classics like The Great Gatsby and The Animal Farm but they didn’t really get to me. As far as stories go though, I can’t choose between ‘Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde’ and ‘Prisoner of Zenda’. I haven’t read Les Miserables but I LOVE this story.

 

14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?

Sabrina: Yes! I was the top in my year for English every year since I was 9 years old. 😀

Mai: Yes. English always saves my ass!

Filyn: Nah. I did well in English, but Mathematics was more of my thing.

 

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?

Sabrina: I would say thanks but out of curiosity probably ask them why did they buy that book and if they had read it? But I wouldn’t say anything rude! It was a gift after all!

Mai: I’ll just take it. It’s the thought that counts.

Filyn: Honestly, it depends on who the person is. Generally, I’d say thank you and then won’t rave about it much longer. Topic change!

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

Sabrina: Narnia. Although I don’t know if it’s a lesser known series. It seems quite popular and it’s a rather old series…ok, i’ll change the answer to the Percy Jackson series? It seems similar with a young boy(demigod) facing life threatening situations, etc.

Mai: Oh my, FML! I am so uneducated on this hahaha.

Filyn: I am not a fan of genres like this when it comes to book. But I do know that Battle Royale came out much earlier than Hunger Games and is ironically similar to the Hunger Games.

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while filming?

Sabrina: I’ve never done that. But my boyfriend has a habit of doing his gopro videos and filming me, I guess I tend to wave at the camera? Not sure if that counts as a bad habit.

Mai: I tend to giggle, and the phone would shake a bit, causing poor video experience.

Filyn: I don’t film.

 

18. What is your favorite word?

Sabrina: Inevitable. Serendipity.

Mai: Fooooood.

Filyn: Money. Lol. Jokes aside. It’s really simple. ‘Happiness’.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

Sabrina: I guess I can be a total nerd sometimes, but I don’t mind! Proud to be a nerd.

Mai: Hahaha, none actually.

Filyn: Neither of the above. I am a unique blend of an individual.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Sabrina: Vampires, of course! They’re powerful, seductive and beautiful. Fairies just strikes me as high pitched annoying pesky things.

Mai: None! I’m so sorry vampire-loving fans. Fairies, on the other hand, are too dainty and remind me of Barbie.

Filyn: Vampires. Movies have portrayed that these creatures have a soul and there’s always a story to it. They’re just much more fascinating that way.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Sabrina: Shapeshifters. Imagine being able to shapeshift to anything you want, it would be kind of cool.

Mai: Shapeshifters. Just ‘cos they sound cooler.

Filyn: Shapeshifters. I don’t know, do you have a life of options when you’re an angel?

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Sabrina: Werewolves… simply because I find spirits a bit creepy and scary.

Mai: Spirits! More adrenaline rush though I am a cowardly dog.

Filyn: Werewolves. Maybe I am biased because I am obsessed about ‘The Originals’ at the moment.

23. Zombies or Vampires?

Sabrina: Vampires again.

Mai: Zombies, ‘cos they would sound cool doing Kizomba — Kizombies.

Filyn: Gotta be with the winning team. Team Vampire.

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Sabrina: I guess a love triangle. More characters into the midst and more feelings to explore. Forbidden love just makes my heart ache.

Mai: Love triangle. Forbidden love is so much effort, but goes to waste.

Filyn: Love triangle. Like Sabrina, I think forbidden love is just…ugh. Why is there such feelings created for one another, and yet you can’t have it?

25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Sabrina: I can’t stand full on romance. Give me an action-packed book!

Mai: Action packed with a few love scenes definitely.

Filyn: The latter.

Leave a Reply

